top of page
  • Writer's pictureDarya P

Forrest Gander

Forrest Gander recently won the Pulitzer Prize for poetry, so with what free time I had, I began looking into his works. Right off the bat, the first thing I noticed was his use of metaphors, imagery, and space, all of which are incredibly important in the writing of poetry. I'm especially impressed by Gander's ability to be paint such a vivid mental picture in such few words, particularly in his poem The Sounding. This ability to say so much with so little is something I feel many poets strive for but don't quite succeed in, so props to Gander for pulling it off.


If you are fond of poetry, I would recommend reading Forrest Gander's Be With. His style is memorable, his writing is superb, and he most certainly deserved the prize he won.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

WILD MINDS

bottom of page